The Texas Silver-Haired Legislature (TSHL) is supported by the Area Agency on Aging of the Coastal Bend through a steering committee that coordinates the TSHL election process. Created in 1985, the TSHL is a representative, non-partisan body of 116 older persons elected from across the state who meet biennially in Austin to address issues and draft proposed legislation of concern of older Texans.


Committee Members

  • Cantu, Rodolfo (Rudy), TSHL Representative
  • Gutierrez Elia, TSHL Representative & Committee Co-Chair
  • Lee, Joyce, TSHL Representative & Committee Co-Chair
  • Morrow, Frances, TSHL Representative
  • Walsh, Mark, Committee Co-Chair
The Committee reviews contracts, proposals, carryover funding requests, along with needs assessment data and make appropriate recommendations to the ACoA members. The committee will consist of (a minimum of) seven ACoA members from the recommended area: 2 from Nueces County, 1 from Rural Nueces County, and 2 each from the Northern and Southern Counties.


Committee Members

  • Lewis, Yolanda (Live Oak/McMullen Counties)
  • Marrow, Frances (Nueces County)
  • Mendiola, Isreal (Kenedy/Kleberg Counties) Committee Chair
  • Trevino, Griselda (Kenedy/Kleberg Counties)
  • 1 Open Position (Nueces County)
  • 1 Open Position (Rural Nueces)
  • 1 Open Position (Southern County)
  • 1 Open Positon (Northern County)
The Committee will review ACoA membership applications, attendance records, Bylaws and make appropriate recommendations to the ACoA members. Committee members also function as the Nominating Committee for the Slate of ACoA officers for the new calendar year.


Committee Members

  • Alaniz, Jr. Adan
  • Erwin, Billie
  • Gutierrez, Albert
  • Morrow, Frances
Committee members are assigned by the Area Agency on Aging Chair before the end of the year as needed, make appropriate recommendations to the ACoA members. Committee also functions as the Membership/Bylaws Committee.


Nominating Committee

  • Alaniz, Jr. Adan
  • Gutierrez, Albert
  • Erwin, Billie
An informal delegation of representatives from the Area Agency on Aging of the Coastal Bend Subcontractors, who advises the ACoA from their prospective as a professional service provider.


Standing Committee

  • Aransas County Council on Aging, Mary Ellen Nies, Director
  • Bee Community Action Agency, Anna Simo, Executive Director
  • City of Corpus Christi Senior Community Services, Elsa Munoz and Lisa Oliver
  • Community Action Corporation of South Texas, Rojelio Cuellar and Elia Paez
  • Duval County Elderly Nutrition Program, Adriana Benavides
  • Elderly Services for Refugio County, Edith Collins, Director
  • Kleberg County Human Services, Margie Del Bosque, Director
  • Live Oak County Courthouse, Judge Jim Huff
  • McMullen County Vendor Program, Judge Linda Lee Henry
  • Nueces County Senior Community Services, Edward Herrera, Director